Actions speak louder than words

Ambition is the first step to success. The second step is action. #entrepreneur #wisewords

Something we go over in the documentary is how there are many stages in this industry. We all start somewhere, and it all starts with a spark; that ambition that drives us to follow our dreams. It is easier said than done, but I can’t stress enough how your first step after finding that ambition is taking action. If all you are doing is dreaming, thinking, imagining…it doesn’t get you anywhere.

I remember when I was in cosmetology school, I always told other students and the instructors how I wanted to do film and fashion. How I wanted to move to a larger city and make it big. I talked about it a lot, I dreamt about it every day, and I had big goals to move to either Chicago or LA. I would talk to friends about it, but nothing ever happened. I even reached out to a woman (who I truly admire!) by the name of Diana Schmidtke who wrote a book called, “Shortcuts.” This book is about how to become a freelance hair and makeup artist in the fashion and entertainment industry. After reading it, I emailed her and asked for her advice. Her immediate response was, essentially, “Move!” and It still took me a couple years to gain the courage.

 One day, I was getting drinks with a good friend of mine. I told him how I wanted to move to LA, and his answer changed my life. He looked at me and said, “Amber. You’ve been saying this for the past 3 years. Look at where you are. You’re still in Fort Wayne… I’ll believe it when I see it.” And that’s when I realized…I need to DO something about it.

We never get anywhere if we don’t take that first step: Action. This goes for anything in life. If you want to do something, DO it. You wanna start a diet? Then start. You wanna get in shape? Go work out. The list goes on and on. If you want to be a freelance hairstylist or makeup artist, take action now! Look up the best schools, look up all the industry names of who is who, purchase trade magazine or educational books. After your research, GO FOR IT. Move to where ever you need to be for what you want to do. Be around the people you strive to be like. Email your mentors. 

As we get closer to our promo release, I will be introducing who our featured artists are. We start with a student in cosmetology, and he is one heck of a guy. This quote describes him to a T and I still am fascinated by how passionate he is. Not only is he ambitious and passionate, but he takes that next step of action to get to where he wants to be. I can’t wait to share more about him and his story with all of you. 

9/8/14

Leave a Reply

