And the winners are….

What a spectacular night last night at the Makeup Artist and Hairstylist Guild Awards! Everyone looked so fancy and snazzy, I always love getting ready for special events as these. We had the pleasure of meeting and speaking with some actors, directors, and artists. I will have to say, this was my first experience as “press” for an event like this, and I will be honest…I was definitely not prepared ha! I wasn’t able to get any photos like I wanted either, which I was super bummed about, grr!

The press is no joke– people are EVERYWHERE- trying to get shots, elbowing you to get that one person that nearly everyone wants to interview or take a snapshot of. The best part was when I interviewed Ron Perlman and a gal from a random show literally stuck her microphone right next to mine and stole my interview with him so she could piggy-back our coverage…I’m pretty sure that’s a major no-no in press etiquette…. If I ever find that girl…. well that’s besides the point. 

I definitely did not anticipate how crazy the night was. I knew it would be chaotic, but I didn’t quite prepare myself for a chaotic night, I’ll just put it that way. I literally had such a nice and graceful picture of how the night would be, and oh how wrong I was. As you all know, this documentary is about the hair and makeup industry as a whole, but with that being said, we do have featured artists. One in which is Eryn Krueger Mekash, so basically Eryn and her team were a priority, and then any other interviews were a bonus. Well, I found out that as press, you literally get what you can in a short amount of time. This was the part I wasn’t prepared for. So many awesome people were there and I was able to snag some fantastic interviews. One particular interview that I did not expect was with an actor/actress who I did not know that shall remain nameless. They came up to me and just started talking, and the last thing I was going to do is deny them an interview. Well that’s what threw me off completely, and when it came time to interview Eryn and her team, my brain went blank. So Eryn and the AHS team: I promise I had better questions prepared, but everything that happened leading up to then literally made my brain go blank. But hey, it was a learning experience and a fun one at that. 

I’ll admit, I nearly lost sleep over it. Here I was, completely prepared for one specific interview, and I ended up not asking any of the questions I planned haha It’s quite funny to think about now, but it was NOT funny last night (ask my sister and my boyfriend). I’m a Virgo, so when I plan everything out and then those plans go out of order or go completely different, my mind sometimes turns to jello. Something I should work on for sure. But who knows, maybe I’m being too hard on myself. I know this seems like I am rambling, but I wanted to share this experience because this is something that has happened to all of us. Not this experience specifically, but when you have in your mind a day planned a certain way, and then everything goes way different than you expected. We’re all human!

Anyways! Back to the highlights of the night. We interviewed some of the celebrity presenters about why they value our industry and what they love about us. Ron Perlman (Hellboy), talked to us about his process of getting into the Hellboy character, which took 4-6 hours. He has SO much respect for makeup artists and the craft that goes into making them into their characters. 

John Landis (director: Michael Jackson Thriller) has worked countless times with Rick Baker and talked about how much he loves working with Rick. He had some fun stories to tell about their first time working together back when Rick was only 20 years old! We also interviewed none other than Sue Cabral-Ebert, President of the Local 706. Basically: she’s a big deal. She had a lot of great advice for aspiring artists and something she said will always stick with me: “Hair and Makeup is timeless. There will always be a need for us.” Another lovely interview we filmed was with Wendi McLendon-Covey (The Goldbergs, Bridesmaids). She had nothing but positive things to say about working with Kim Greene on the Goldbergs and how much the hair and makeup department mean to her as an actress. 

I loved hearing what these talented individuals have to say about our industry. It’s very humbling. 

Even though the night didn’t go as planned, it was still such a fun experience. Would I do it differently if I knew what to expect? Probably. But I can’t turn back time to go back and re-do it, so no need to dwell, right? It was an honor to even be among these phenomenal artists, so that is good enough for me! I want to thank my sister, Allison, for coming out and helping us. It was fun to have her by my side and share the experience with her. 

And now.

The moment you all have been waiting for……… THE WINNERS!!! 

Congratulations to you ALL

WINNERS FOR FEATURE LENGTH MOTION PICTURE
(FEATURE FILMS):

Best Contemporary Make-Up
GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY
Make-Up Artist: ELIZABETH YIANNI-GEORGIOU

Best Contemporary Hair Styling
BIRDMAN
Hair Stylists: JERRY POPOLIS and KAT DRAZEN

Best Period and/or Character Make-Up
THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL
Make-Up Artists: FRANCES HANNON and JULIE DARTNELL

Best Period and/or Character Hair Styling
THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL
Hair Stylists: FRANCES HANNON and JULIE DARTNELL

Best Special Make-Up Effects
GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY
Make-Up Artist: DAVID WHITE

WINNERS FOR TELEVISION AND NEW MEDIA SERIES:

Best Contemporary Make-Up
SONS OF ANARCHY
Make-Up Artists: TRACEY ANDERSON, MICHELLE GARBIN and SABINE ROLLER TAYLOR

Best Contemporary Hair Styling
DANCING WITH THE STARS
Hair Stylists: MARY GUERRERO, KIMI MESSINA and JENNIFER GUERRERO-MAZURSKY

Best Period and/or Character Make-Up
DOWNTON ABBEY
Make-Up Artists: MAGI VAUGHAN and ERIKA ÖKVIST

Best Period and/or Character Hair Styling
DOWNTON ABBEY
Hair Stylists: MAGI VAUGHAN and ADAM JAMES PHILLIPS

Best Special Make-Up Effects
THE WALKING DEAD
Make-Up Artists: GREG NICOTERO and JAKE GARBER

WINNERS FOR TELEVISION MINI-SERIES

OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION (M.O.W):

Best Contemporary Make-Up
FARGO
Make-Up Artists: GAIL KENNEDY, JOANNE PREECE and GUNTHER SCHETTERER

Best Contemporary Hair Styling
SHERLOCK
Hair Stylists: CLAIRE PRITCHARD-JONES and SARAH ASTLEY-HUGHES

Best Period and/or Character Make-Up
AMERICAN HORROR STORY: FREAK SHOW
Make-Up Artists: ERYN KRUEGER MEKASH and KIM AYERS

Best Period and/or Character Hair Styling
AMERICAN HORROR STORY: FREAK SHOW
Hair Stylists: MONTE C. HAUGHT and MICHELLE CEGLIA

Best Special Make-Up Effects
AMERICAN HORROR STORY: FREAK SHOW
Make-Up Artists: ERYN KRUEGER MEKASH, MICHAEL MEKASH and CHRISTOPHER NELSON

WINNERS FOR COMMERCIALS AND MUSIC VIDEOS:

Best Make-Up
DIRECTV
Make-Up Artists: SCOTT STODDARD and MICHAEL ORNELAZ

Best Hair Styling
PROGRESSIVE COMMERCIAL
Hair Stylist: DIAN BETHUNE COBLE

WINNERS FOR THEATRICAL PRODUCTIONS (LIVE STAGE):

Best Make-Up
KINKY BOOTS
Make-Up Artist: SARAH B. WOLFE

Best Hair Styling
MOTOWN THE MUSICAL, NATIONAL TOUR
Hair Stylist: BRANDON BOLTON

SPONSORS: CROWN LEVEL: MAC Cosmetics; EMERALD LEVEL: Ardell Lashes, John Paul Mitchell Systems; GOLD LEVEL: Fox Searchlight Pictures; TIGI® Cosmetics; SILVER LEVEL: AMC American Movie Classics; Make-up Designory; Universal Pictures; BRONZE LEVEL: Walt Disney Motion Pictures; Paramount Studios; I.A.T.S.E.; L’Oreal Paris; Make-Up Artist Magazine; IATSE Local 798; Dermalogica; Kryolan; SPIRITS: The Patrón Spirits Company. MEDIA: Below the Line,The Hollywood Reporter, SHOOTMagazine/SHOOTonline and Variety

ABOUT LOCAL 706:The Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild (IATSE, Local 706) was chartered in November 1937. Today, membership includes over 1,900 artisans in the entertainment industry worldwide. Local 706 members are make-up artists and hair stylists who have created the looks for Hollywood’s most memorable characters and stars of stage, screen, television and now the Internet. The wide-ranging domains of these artists include feature films and television, commercials, “live” network television, all types of theatrical productions and Disneyland theme parks. Local 706 Members have created notable characters competing for Academy Awards®, Primetime Emmys®, Daytime Entertainment Emmys®, Saturn Awards®, BAFTA Awards®, and many other honors for make-up and hair styling artistry including their own Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards. The Local 706 Guild publishes The Artisan, a glossy quarterly magazine, and provides panels, workshops and training both for members and others interested in the field to foster a spirit of innovation in the craft. 

Leave a Reply

