It’s almost Halloween!

Halloween is just around the corner! You know what that means: costume time! 

Ahhhh how I love Halloween. I think it’s nearly every makeup artists’s favorite holiday. Each year, around this time when stores start to put up their Halloween decorations, costumes, and makeups, I always get really excited! What are you going to be this year? 

With it almost being Halloween, I thought it would be appropriate to post up one of my favorite makeups I did back in school. Now… I’ve been doing hair and makeup for about 7-8 years, but special FX only 3 years. This photo was taken for our final projects at school about 2 and a half years ago. I LOVE special fx.

This makeup took a total of 2 hours. My model was the lovely Jessica Fooskas. This makeup was inspired by a mix of Beetlejuice and The Joker from The Dark Knight. The makeup consisted of a bald cap, hand laid hair to create the look of a receding hair line, third degree for the scar on her lip/cheek, yellow teeth paint, and grease paints for the face. 

The cool thing about looking back on all of my work is that I have realized I have a very distinct style. It’s neat to see that over time. If I were to explain my style in one word it would be gritty (if we are talking about my fx style). For my beauty makeup, I would definitely say it’s either “light” or “natural.” I definitely do not have a heavy hand in either fx or beauty. 

I always enjoy doing special fx and I wish I could do it more often.

With that being said…. I really need to brush up on my fx, so I have decided to practice more character makeups in the spirit of Halloween. There will be some fun videos and photos I will post of each character I make, so stay tuned!

If you haven’t checked out our promo video for What It Takes, go to our page below! We are trying to raise funds to shoot our documentary, and your help is GREATLY appreciated! If you can’t donate, share us on facebook! 🙂 

http://igg.me/at/whatit-takesfilm

Also: now follow us on Instagram!

@whatit_takesfilm

9/15/14

Leave a Reply

