Joel Harlow

To say that I was nervous about today would be an understatement. Ask my boyfriend, and he will tell you about how I had g0ne mad the last few days over getting a particular interview that I was setting up. The interview was with an artist by the name of Joel Harlow. Those of you who may not know who he is should look up his IMDB…. His credits of over 90 films in the makeup department will keep you occupied for a good while. Some of these movies include Star Trek, Lone Ranger, Inception, Dark Shadows, Pirates of the Caribbean, Battle Los Angeles, Alice in Wonderland, and many more. Not to mention, he is Johnny Depp’s personal makeup artist. No big deal.


As I mentioned…I was a nervous wreck putting together the interview with Joel. He is such an amazing artist, and has done some major, major FX makeups, that it was a little intimidating. But the coolest part is, once we started getting into conversation, I came to find out that he is one of the most down to earth, laid back, and over all cool guys I have met in the industry. Not to say I had the expectation that he would be crazy or have a huge ego, it was more of me being nervous that I am in front of such a well known artist who has had such a major impact on our industry. And I’m just little ol’ me haha. And my oh my, I can’t wait to edit his interview because a lot of what we filmed is extremely inspiring. 


Seeing our film come to life is by far the coolest experience. Growing as an artist definitely goes along with that, too. But the direction that my film has been going is something I never would have expected. If you asked me a year ago if I thought we would be interviewing Joel Harlow, Steve Johnson, Diana Schmidtke, or Eryn Krueger Mekash…I would have been in shock and at a loss of words. Never ever underestimate what you can do when you have passion behind your work, project, or art. Also- never be intimidated by the people you look up to. I’ve contacted and met many artists that inspire me and who I look up to, and every one of them have been nothing short of kind, helpful, and supportive.  I was actually too scared to contact Joel initially, but I blogged about him and tagged him in a post which caught his attention about the film. Luckily, he commented on the post and said extremely kind words along with expressing his interest in helping out with our film. If I wouldn’t have gone out of the box to reach his attention, the interview may not have ever happened. Or if I would have just e-mailed him sooner, we could have had Joel be on board way sooner. You see… sometimes you have to do things that seem uncomfortable, or put yourself in situations that may make you  feel as if you’re annoying. But there is never any harm in just going for it. You will never know unless you try. 


Joel, if you’re reading this: THANK YOU for being so supportive of this film and participating in interviewing.  We are so excited about everything! To anyone following us on our blog, facebook and instagram, please stay tuned for some behind the scenes and sneak peak footage of Joel’s interview as well as Kim Greene’s!!


“You need to have passion, not ambition.”-Joel Harlow.

12/8/14

Leave a Reply

