My Wicked Week

This week has been one of the best weeks ever! Today, February 25, marks my 3 year anniversary of following my dreams and moving to LA. Not only this, but today I attended a guest speaker event at MUD with Howard Berger. What an outstanding man he is! Wow. I was actually too intimidated to walk up to him…ugh. I could punch myself for not just going up to him, but next time!…if there ever is one ahhh!!! Anyway, after a loooooooong time of no work, this past weekend I was SLAMMED with work, it was such a relief! If you read my last blog, you’ll know what I am talking about and also that I had come across an opportunity that I will NEVER forget.

As some of you know, this amazing opportunity was working with Christina Tracey, the makeup dept head of Wicked this week! Oh myyyyyyy gosh. I’m still in awe of this experience. So amazing in every way possible. Even though I wasn’t working on the actual show, Wicked, I got to work with Christina AND the cast of Wicked. They were doing a benefit called The Wicked Rocky Horror Show. 

I was in charge of wigs! Now, here’s the kicker: I’ve worked with wigs, but I have never designed or built them. I got the email from my career advisor at MUD (Thank you Kandice! I’m so grateful you still send work my way!!) that Christina was looking for someone to help with wigs… When I read this email, I paid more attention to the word help. I’ve worked with wigs and I have my cosmetology license so I literally jumped at this opportunity as if I won the lottery (those of you who haven’t read my last blog, I have seen this play three times and cry every time I see it. Watching this play brought me to my first thought of ever possibly getting into the makeup world, so it’s been a dream of mine to work on this show). 

I didn’t think I had much of a chance that Christina would reply to me, but after two days, she did! She ended up calling me with the details and told me over the phone I would be taking these wigs home, styling them over the wk end and bringing them back for the benefit. One wig was needing to be styled like the hair of the Bride of Frankenstein. My eyes got HUGE when she told me this and asked, “So are you good to help out?” And I immediately told her YES…. Even though I had no idea how I would come up with this. 

Long story short, I was already working Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, which gives you an idea of how much free time I had to teach myself something new. Thankfully my friend, Chris, helped me out on Saturday night. There were 2 wigs that needed to be styled and then the Bride of Frankenstein one. Chris was so awesome to give me two wig heads and help with styling these wigs until like 3 am! HUGE thanks to Christopher Evitt

I ended up researching a ton of ways to create this Frankenstein piece, it was a pretty big challenge. I created it by cutting a 2 liter bottle of Pepsi which stood as the structure of it, then piece by piece, wrapped it around and pinned it. Hair kept falling out of place, the hair was crazy looking, and best part was that it was a straight hair wig that couldn’t be ironed to add texture or curl like the character. I was going nuts!

Tired and frustrated, I finally got the hair to stay up along with the structure, and then I spray-painted two white hair sections in that squiggle-y form that she has. Another challenge that had me wanting to pull my hair out. 

I have to be honest. I didn’t think what I did was that great, I even almost told Christina that I wouldn’t be able to stay for the show because I was embarrassed of the outcome of the wig. But I brought the wig and she told me it looked great! I was like… What?! How… Wha…. Okay!!!! So I stayed, and I am so glad that I did!

39a9c931-d8ab-4e03-b3cf-2a0068c85fda

The cast was awesome to work with and I met a lot of fantastic artists who were doing makeups and some hairstyling. Aside from that, the best part was seeing my name on the program!!!! 

My heart was in my throat when I saw it! Ahhhh a memory I will NEVER forget! 

I will always remember what Eryn Krueger Mekash told me: always say yes to a job. If there is something you may not have experience with, PUSH yourself and just do it. If you have absolutely no capability in doing whatever that may be, then definitely make sure it’s something that won’t reflect poorly on you haha If I would have told Christina over the phone, “Oh I’m so sorry, I’ve never designed a wig like that,” then I would have never had this experience. I know enough about hair and hairstyling that I knew it could be done, as long as I pushed myself to just figure it out. It’s amazing what we can do when the pressure is there along with passion for why we are doing it. 

To all of you who are still reading, thank you for your support! We have a lot in store for updates on filming the documentary, we are currently gearing up for our second round of shooting! So keep watching for all our updates! Cheers to following dreams! 

2/25/15

Leave a Reply

